Skip to main content
Discover Ashfield awards nominations information, including categories.

Local heroes set to be celebrated at Discover Ashfield Awards

The Awards are the perfect opportunity to recognise and celebrate the significant milestones people have achieved over the past year and a half. Nominations could include a volunteer or local hero within the community, shining young stars in sport and education and dedicated carers. There are also categories for highlighting a special venue or outdoor space and supporting thriving local businesses.

Nominations should recognise achievements between January 2021 and June 2022 and can be made until 31 July 2022. The Awards ceremony will take place at the new Kirkby Leisure Centre on Friday 16 September 2022.

Leader of the Council Cllr Jason Zadrozny said:

“The annual Discover Ashfield Awards are the perfect chance to highlight the fantastic work people and businesses do all year round in the District. It’s great to recognise the unsung heroes and celebrate the huge contribution they make to ensure Ashfield is a great place to live, work and visit.”

Cllr Matthew Relf, Executive Lead Member for Regeneration and Corporate Transformation and member of the Discover Ashfield Board said:

“The awards are a small token of appreciation for the hard work they do with a night dedicated to celebrating their achievements. We want to celebrate the people that make this a District we are proud to represent. The only regret is we can’t give all the nominees first place.”  

This year there will be twelve categories for the awards, and nominations can be made via the Discover Ashfield website.

This year’s categories are as follows:

  • Health & Wellbeing Project Award
  • Carer Award
  • Ashfield’s Hero Award
  • Ashfield’s Young Hero Award
  • Ashfield Community Organisation Award
  • Business Improvement Award
  • High Street Business of the Year Award
  • Shining Star Award
  • Sport, Art & Academic
  • STEM Inspiration Award
  • Ashfield Ambassador Award
  • Venue of the Year
  • Park of the Year