Skip to main content
Discover Ashfield Awards were just the ticket for Ashfield residents and businesses

Discover Ashfield Awards just the ticket for Ashfield residents and businesses

Ashfield residents and businesses came together to celebrate the achievements of local people during the past 12 months at the Discover Ashfield Awards which were held on Friday 11 November.

Discover Ashfield celebrates all that is best about living, visiting, working, studying and doing business in Ashfield and the awards were the perfect way to recognise all those who are doing great work within the District.  

The event was held at the new Kirkby Leisure Centre, compered by Sutton’s Takeover Radio DJ, Ken Mead, with entertainment from local artist Ollie Hayes and the showcasing of the 2022 Photography Competition winning images from Mia Ludlam, Adrian Seaman and Rachel Collins. Chief Executive Theresa Hodgkinson and Director of Place and Communities, Robert Docherty attended the event and had chance to speak to those involved and offer their congratulations to the winners.

The awards were presented by Discover Ashfield ambassadors including the Chair of Discover Ashfield, Martin Rigley, Chief Executive Officer of Lindhurst Engineering and Vice Chair Louise Knott, Vice Principal of West Notts College.  When Louise was asked what message would she give to Ashfield’s young people she said “Dream big, do what you love and stay local”.


The award categories and winners were:

Business Improvement

  • RM Resources (Hucknall) High Street Business of the Year  


  • Colledges Butchers
  • Moor Market
  • Phil’s Bait and Tackle


High Street Business of the Year

  • Sauce & Brown (Annesley Woodhouse)


  • Taylors Corn Stores
  • Costa Coffee (Sutton)
  • Lawrence Severn and Son


Shining Star in Sports  

  • Brooke Butler


  • Darja Pilace
  • Ruby Adams
  • Paige Elliott


Shining Star in Academia

  • Boys Brigade Hucknall

Shining Star in Art

  • Sarah Newcombe


STEM Inspiration Award (science, technology, engineering, maths)

  • Innovation Centre Nottingham
  • Kier Group


Ashfield Community Organisation Award

  • Mansfield Boxing Academy (Kirkby)
  • Ashfield Voluntary Action


  • Ashwood Centre
  • Our Centre
  • Leons Legacy


Ashfield Hero Award

  • Claire Finn with the Ashfield Virtual Arts Festival


  • Jim Radburn – Carers in Hucknall
  • Matt Williams – Litter Picking Volunteer
  • Lynne Ryland – OT Fundraisers Food Club
  • Owen Towle – OT Fundraisers Food Club
  • Simon Martin – ATTFE Lets All Eat
  • Matt Limer – Nottingham Printing


Young Hero Award

  • Ruth Lamb


More to Discover

Park of the Year

  • Huthwaite Welfare Park


Venue of the Year

  • Ashfield Rugby Club (Sutton)
  • Mill Waters Café
  • Arunothai (Hucknall)


Health & Wellbeing Project Award

  • Active Minds CIC


  • Carers Roadshow – Trevor Clower
  • Feel Good Families – ADC
  • Ashwood Community Bike Project
  • Revolution Gym


Ashfield Carer Award

  • Andrea Reeves


  • Joan Cannon
  • Sharon Gregory
  • Rachael Weaver
  • Anne Morecroft


Ambassador Award

  • Sue West – TC Threads
  • Jackie West - Keycraft
  • Lynn Riley Ashfield Play Forum
  • Hayley Carrington – Asda


Cllr Matthew Relf, presented the STEM Inspiration Awards on the evening and has shown his full support for Discover Ashfield since it began and said ‘There are many wonderful and innovative businesses here in Ashfield, and I’m proud to say that we are attracting more.  The awards is one way we are able to celebrate the achievements of local people”.

A number of Special Recognition awards were presented by Leader of the Council, Cllr Jason Zadrozny and the Council’s Chairman, Cllr David Walters, in particular to recognise those who have received national honours this year.

  • Liz Barrett OBE - for services to education
  • Ashfield's NHS
  • Gary Jordan MBE - for services to the economy and community
  • Lieutenant Colonel Keith Spiers OBE – for pioneering new ways for the Army to engage with young people

A new annual award, the Maryrose Philanthropy award was unveiled for the first time, with the first recipient being Mr Alan Rooksby.  The award recognises those who give their time, commitment and resources to local charities and worthy causes. Mr Rooksby has made a generous donation towards the building of Kirkby Leisure Centre in memory of his wife Maryrose, with a health and wellbeing room named after her where local groups can meet.

Leader of the Council, Cllr Zadrozny said ‘It was a pleasure to be part of the Discover Ashfield Awards, and to see them hosted in the new Kirkby Leisure Centre.  There was a wonderful atmosphere as each winner received their award and were cheered by all in attendance.  It was a special privilege to be able present the Maryrose Philanthropy Award.”


Chief Executive, Theresa Hodgkinson was thrilled to see so many at the event and said:

“The Discover Ashfield Awards are a fantastic opportunity to recognise all the hard work and dedication from organisations and individual across Ashfield. It was a pleasure to speak to those who came along and to see them receiving their award. All those involved should feel very proud of their achievements and I look forward to seeing who wins next year’s awards.”